reflect on historical Fourth Amendment cases

In this assignment, students will be required to reflect on historical Fourth Amendment cases. The Fourth Amendment protects U.S. citizens from unreasonable searches and seizures. However, what if the location of the search is in an unusual location? What about an obvious conventional location?

For this assignment, students will focus their essays on four specific areas to include searches conducted:

a) in homes,

b) on an individual person,

c) in public schools, and

d) in motor vehicles.

In this Unit, there are more than 19 historical cases listed below that represent each of the four areas outlined above. Choose one case from each of the four areas to discuss how the Fourth Amendment has changed over time based on the physical area investigated by law enforcement offices. Should the specific area matter? Should there be different parameters based on the area searched? Why, or why not?

Your essay should include a minimum of four cases and encompass one conventional and one unusual search location when discussing the four specific areas of the essay. Your completed assignment should be a minimum of three (3) pages, not counting the reference page, and should be typed in 12-point, Times New Roman font. All outside sources should be properly cited in APA format.

Historical cases regarding the Fourth Amendment pre-9/11:

a) Davis v. United States (1946)

b) United States v. Robinson (1973)

c) Payton v. New York (1980)

d) Maryland v. Macon (1985)

e) Terry v. Ohio (1968)

f) Minnesota v. Dickerson (1993)

g) New Jersey v. TLO (1985)

h) United States v. Montoya de Hernandez (1985)

i) Michigan Department of State Police v. Sitz (1990)

j) City of Indianapolis v. Edmond (2000)

Historical cases regarding the Fourth Amendment post-9/11:

k) United States v. Arvizu (2002)

l) Illinois v. Lidster (2004)

m) Illinois v. Caballes (2005)

n) Brendlin v. California (2007)

o) Georgia v. Randolph (2006)

p) Hudson v. Michigan (2006)

q) United States v. Grubbs (2006)

r) Arizona v. Gant (2009)

s) Arizona v. Johnson (2009)